Link to Us!
Link to Us!

R.E.M. - In Time: Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003
Label: Warner Brothers Records
Release: 2003

1. Man On The Moon
2. Great Beyond, The
3. Bad Day
4. What's The Frequency, Kenneth?
5. All The Way To Reno
6. Losing My Religion
7. E-Bow The Letter
8. Orange Crush
9. Imitation Of Life
10. Daysleeper
11. Animal
12. Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite, The
13. Stand
14. Electrolite
15. All The Right Friends
16. Everybody Hurts
17. At My Most Beautiful
18. Nightswimming

1. Pop Song '89 - (acoustic)
2. Turn You Inside-Out
3. Fretless (from "Until The End Of The World")
4. Chance - (dub)
5. It's A Free World Baby (from "Coneheads")
6. Drive (from "Live Greenpeace")
7. Star Me Kitten - (featuring William Burroughs)
8. Revolution (from "Batman And Robin")
9. Leave (from "A Life Less Ordinary")
10. Why Not Smile - (Oxford American Version)
11. Lifting, The - (demo version)
12. Beat A Drum - (demo version)
13. 2JN
14. One I Love, The - (live)
15. Country Feedback - (live)

In Time: Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003 - R.E.M.
(View Larger Image)

Buy In Time: Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003 - R.E.M. from
Add a Review for this CD
Average Blamo User Rating: (37 votes)

In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003 (limited edition) contains their greatest hits from their Warner Brothers years as well as a second disc of b-sides and rarities.

Disc 1 does a great job of collection R.E.M.'s album singles from the past 15 years, as well as including two songs from movie soundtracks ("The Great Beyond" and "All the Right Friends") and two new songs ("Bad Day" and "Animal").

Disc 2 includes a variety of rare R.E.M. songs. It includes some live versions of songs, some alternate versions of songs, and some songs previously only available on soundtracks. My favorite tracks from this disc are probably "It's a Free World Baby" and "The One I Love" (live & acoustic).

This edition also includes a poster and a 40 page colored booklet with commentary on the songs by Peter Buck himself.

I would recommend this collection to both longtime R.E.M. fans (the new songs and bonus disc make this set essential) and people who may only know a few R.E.M. songs and are looking for a good introduction to the band. And for the newcomers, don't stop here. There's a whole library of R.E.M. albums to enjoy.

Reviewer Rating of CD :

When listening to 'best of/greatest hits' albums in the past, I've always preferred the songs to be in chronological order. However, when listening to this recently it struck me just how brilliantly most of the songs slot into place - Even when R.E.M have made albums that fall below their usual impeccable standard they're guaranteed to have placed a couple of brilliant songs on their somewhere, hence the generally majestic standard of this compilation.

If possible, I recommend getting hold of the limited edition version - both the bonus disc & packaging (the booklet that comes with it is particularly excellent, and a poster is also included) make it extremely worthwhile.

Reviewer Rating of CD :


Featured Game
The BlamoNet Get Firefox
Web site design, layout, and graphics © 1995-2019 Aaron Grant.