Link to Us!
Link to Us!

R.E.M. - Dead Letter Office
Label: Capitol Records
Release: 1987

01. Crazy
02. There She Goes Again
03. Burning Down
04. Voice Of Harold
05. Burning Hell
06. White Tornado
07. Toys In The Attic
08. Windout
09. Ages Of You
10. Pale Blue Eyes
11. Rotary Ten
12. Bandwagon
13. Femme Fatale
14. Walter's Theme
15. King Of The Road
16. Wolves, Lower*
17. Gardening At Night*
18. Carnival Of Sorts*
19. 1,000,000*
20. Stumble*

*Originally appears on EP "Chronic Town."
Dead Letter Office - R.E.M.
(View Larger Image)

Buy Dead Letter Office - R.E.M. from
Add a Review for this CD
Average Blamo User Rating: (17 votes)

"Dead Letter Office" is a basic collection of R.E.M.'s b-sides, and to be honest, most of them deserve to be just that...b-sides. There are, of course, a few exceptions, with the most signifacant being, "Crazy," "Rotary Ten," "Femme Fatale," and "Gardening At Night." "Femme Fatale" is one of those songs that, despite it's lack of good recording and producing, is perfect the way it is, and "Gardening At Night" is definitely one of my all time favourite 1982 - 1987 R.E.M. songs.

Here is my advice on this album. If you are a diehard R.E.M. fan, than this is a must-buy. If you are just a casual fan, and are looking for their 'good' and 'popular' songs, than leave this one alone. It's nothing special, but they never professed it to be otherwise... after all, it is a b-sides collection...

Reviewer Rating of CD :

This album is the only place you can purchase the Chronic Town EP on CD, making this album a must for any R.E.M. fan.

In addition, this collection contains a number of b-sides. From covers to barbeque commercials, the b-sides included here are a fun listen. The liner notes by Peter Buck make listening even more interesting.

Sure, this isn't a classic album like Murmur or Reckoning, but it contains a classic EP. And as far as b-sides collections go, this one is fantastic.

Reviewer Rating of CD :


Featured Game
The BlamoNet Get Firefox
Web site design, layout, and graphics © 1995-2019 Aaron Grant.