Link to Us!
Link to Us!

Korn - Follow The Leader
Label: Sony
Release: 1998

1. It's On
2. Freak on a Leash
3. Got the Life
4. Dead Bodies Everywhere
5. Children Of The Korn (with Ice Cube)
6. B.B.K.
7. Pretty
8. All in the Family (with Fred Durst)
9. Reclaim my Place
10. Justin
11. Seed
12. Cameltosis (with Tre Hardson)
13. My Gift to You
14. Justin
15. Seed
16. Cameltosis
17. My Gift To You

Follow The Leader - Korn
(View Larger Image)

Buy Follow The Leader - Korn from
Add a Review for this CD
Average Blamo User Rating: (21 votes)

This was the last of the good CDs by Korn. In my angst filled youth this CD provided a rocking anthem to follow. If you’re looking for the best CD in the world, don't buy this CD. If you’re looking for an all right CD that has good base lines, then this is the CD for you!

As Jessica Schlenz said in her review entitled "Who's The Leader Now?" on : "With its 48 seconds of silence, you can tell from the minute you plop the CD in yer player that KoRn's latest effort, Follow The Leader, isn't going to be any run-of-the-mill disc. The album starts on track 13, entitled "It's On!" And they're right: it is on. On top of the charts, that is. Follow The Leader made its debut at #1 on the BillBoard Top 200, propelled by its surprisingly melodic first single "Got The Life" and the KoRn Kampaign '98 -- a series of "fan conferences" scheduled around the U.S. to promote the album. KoRn's still doing their original thing -- guitarists Brian "Head" Welch and James "Munky" Shaffer grind out their trademark almost-dissonant chords; the rhythm section (comprised of bassist Reggie "Fieldy" Arvizu and drummer David Silveria) keeps the beat and keeps it strong, with Fieldy's bowel-loosening bottom notes shaking your speakers; and Davis's incredible vocal abilities (he can sing, rap, scream, and even whimper like a lost child all in one song) lend themselves to the paranoid, alienating music that is KoRn. Guest spots adorn the album like well-sprinkled glitter: Tre Hardson from the Pharcyde joins on "Cameltosis," Limp Bizkit's Fred Durst raps and volleys insults with Davis on "All In The Family," Ice Cube returns the favor (KoRn and Chino Moreno of the Deftones covered his song "Wicked" on KoRn's 1996 sophomore release, Life Is Peachy) and pays tribute to all the psycho-obsessed KoRnNutz on "Children Of The KoRn," and Cheech Marin even steps in to lend original vox to the KoRn rendition of "Earache My Eye," the secret track at the end of the CD following "My Gift To You." With incredible artwork from Spawn's Todd McFarlane, the album is a visual masterpiece as well as a treat for the ears. Well, mostly a treat for the ears. There's definitely a nod to KoRn's rap influence on the album, and while it's not all bad, the 3 min. 52 second "Children of the KoRn" gets tiresome after about 1 min. 24 seconds (but perhaps that's just because I'm not an Ice Cube fan). And the song "Cameltosis," besides being sexist, is just not particularly well-structured as a song, although some of the harmonies are goosebump-raising. IMHO, that should've been the secret track, so less people would know about it and the world would be a happier place. However, the album has MAJOR high points, some of which being "Freak On A Leash" (does that sound familiar?), "Pretty" (the lyrics "I see your pretty face/smashed against the bathroom floor/what a disgrace/who do I feel sorry for?" hint at Davis's former days working for the Kern County Coroner), "All In The Family" (Davis and Durst engage in "playing the dozens," with some humorous results; Davis compares Durst to Vanilla Ice and Durst rags on Davis's hairy chest), and "Reclaim My Place" (which is basically Davis's life story, how he used to be the picked-on kid and then rose to fame and fortune; it's an upthrust middle finger to everyone who bullied him in years past, I think). The only other disappointments I can think of is a) the almost complete absence of KoRn's trademark bagpipes -- they only appear for a few bars at the beginning of "My Gift To You," as opposed to the ongoing drone in the opening of "Shoots and Ladders" from their 1994 self-titled debut -- and b) the song "Justin," which was the first song written for the album: it's about a boy with intestinal cancer whose last wish granted by the Make-A-Wish Foundation was to meet KoRn. For the subject matter, the song styling is hardly appropriate (and yes, KoRn is capable of writing "pretty" songs!), and Davis screaming "You're gonna die!" is downright disturbing. But then again, that's what KoRn's always been about. " its very worth it.

Reviewer Rating of CD :

er yeah. where as korn could be argued to having a revolutionary sound in the "meddle" (by pink floyd) world, they left it all behind on this lack luster set. featuring a completely lame rap between him and fred durst insulting each other. the album has silence until like track 69 or whatever. 69!!!!!! not a very good album but the band got worse.

Reviewer Rating of CD :


Featured Game
The BlamoNet Get Firefox
Web site design, layout, and graphics © 1995-2019 Aaron Grant.